top of page

DIY Restaurant Quality Vinaigrette


Learn how to make restaurant-quality vinaigrette (salad dressing)

Plus, hear how a 10 year thorn in my side was removed with just a blender and 5 minutes


שלם וברוכה הבאה!

Today we’re in the Hermitage kitchen, where I’ll show you how to make restaurant-quality salad dressing, a fruity vinaigrette with lots of flavor. If you’re tired of eating bland salads at home while craving them at a restaurant, the secret is emulsification. All you need is a good blender, ingredients, and about five minutes.


Let’s get started!




To hear my story of how I went for more than a decade eating bland salads, go to the 9:25 mark.


You will need:

Blender (suitable for liquids)

Vinegar (white, apple cider, red wine, etc.)

Oil (olive oil recommended)

Water (optional, to dilute; don’t use too much!)

Fruit juice (optional for flavor, don’t use too much!)

Fruit jam (optional for flavor)

*Berries (flavor, properties of berries help the emulsification process)

Spices (onion, oregano, dill, parsley, etc.)

Bottle for storing.


My story of how I went for more than a decade of eating bland salads (and disliking them at home) because I didn’t know one fact. (emulsification)


It really is all about the sauce, to re-quote a phrase I hear so often. I loved the salads at restaurants and would even crave getting some at the grocery store deli. But, I was too embarrassed to order them often. We rarely ate out - why would I spend money on what I could make at home? I wanted to like salads at home just as much as I did going out to eat, but my dressing was disappointment in a bottle. I drizzled on my hope for flavor, only to find that hope pooled at the bottom of the plate. I wanted to like salads. I wanted to eat healthy. I couldn’t figure out why my dressing wouldn’t stick to the salad ingredients, leaving me with raw vegetables sitting in a pool of colorful, inaccessible flavor. This went on for over a decade.


You may ask, how did this tradition of sad, bland salads get started? I’ll tell you: I don’t know. (Fiddler on the Roof)


The past decade+ is when God delivered me and has been helping me build a beautiful life. I’ve been learning many things that I should have learned much earlier, including nutrition and fitness. I don’t buy dressing because I don’t eat egg (almost all dressings have egg white) and I got tired of trying to find the single one that I could have. Plus, not buying extras like dressing saves money.


I didn’t figure this out earlier because I didn’t take the time to think about it nor talk about it. It turns out that Himmit knew the secret to great dressings all along. He just thought I wanted to eat salads with no taste (and suffered through them along with me). If I had just talked about it, shared my thoughts even about ordering salads in the restaurant because they were so much better (and I didn’t know why)...if only.


Now that we finally have had that conversation about emulsification and salad dressing (thank God), I am making up for lost time!


So that is my story about a 10 year thorn in my side that was removed by using a blender for five minutes.


Thank you for listening. I hope you learned something new about salad dressing and the importance of being circumspect (and communicating!).


If you like this content, please comment, like, share, subscribe, and give support! Please take a moment to look at my website for posts, items/blessings you can ask for, and reviews and recommendations.


Shalom!

Mrs. Hermit



Tags:

11 views
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page