top of page

Music Theory: Key Signatures in 1 Minute!

Here is a simply easy key signature chart (no circle of 5ths).


All you have to do is remember:

1) BEAD GCF

2) C major has 0 flats

3) 'a minor' is the relative minor of C major


Please see the video for how to make the chart: https://youtu.be/Bxzr7H6k4_Y


My piano teacher taught me this when I was a kid. I have no idea what this chart is called. I had noticed through the years that nobody else seemed to use this chart. When I recently came across a note in my music theory book scribbled from a frustrated student ("Isn't there a faster way of doing this?" - next to the circle of 5ths), I decided to share this chart. If you know what this chart is called, please tell me.


And no, I don't understand the circle of 5ths. I have my chart memorized and it is just what I need for now. : )


Background music is freebie. : )


If you have looked at my other website posts, and are wondering why I put this seemingly out-of-place post about music theory: I used to be an actively involved musician. I did play gigs and had a good instructor, even taught a few students myself, etc, but ...didn't happen. Insert life, life, and more life. (complicated, decisions, things beyond my control, etc.) Currently, I am working on practicing my instruments at home daily (it's a goal) and studying a bit of music theory. Yes I have tried to join a group to play music with (oy was that an odd story). Yes I have tried transcribing (writing down other musicians' music so that they could have sheet music for sale since they were busy composing). It was fun, but...life (people can really stink sometimes)...so I guess I'm not doing that either. So now I just play music at home.


Shalom!






Tags:

9 views
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page