top of page

Shabbat Shalom Iyar 5, 5781 / April 17, 2021

Shabbat Shalom

Iyar 5, 5781 / April 17, 2021

Day 20 of the Omer


Shabbat shalom!


Since we are in the middle of counting the Omer, I think it’s fitting to discuss preparing ourselves to come before HIM. Let’s begin by looking at the text from last week’s Torah portion:


Leviticus 10.1-3 “Then Nadab and Abihu, the sons of Aaron, each took his censer and put fire in it, put incense on it, and offered profane fire before the Lord, which He had not commanded them. 2 So fire went out from the Lord and devoured them, and they died before the Lord. 3 And Moses said to Aaron, “This is what the Lord spoke, saying:

‘By those who come near Me I must be regarded as holy; And before all the people I must be glorified.’ ”

So Aaron held his peace.”


This was during a time of great devotion, when the Tabernacle was set up and Aaron and his sons were beginning their duties as priests. Although on one hand, it may seem a great thing to offer up an extra offering to the Lord, on the other hand, it was not commanded (and the fire’s source was not God-given). They did not check themselves before coming near to the Lord.

---

When Moses went up the Mountain a second time with the second set of Tablets (the 10 Commandments), YHVH passed by him. Was he prepared? I think so. Scripture said that he got himself ready that morning. Remember, Moses had previously requested that he be allowed to see HIS glory, and YHVH answered him.

Exodus 33.18 “And he said, “Please, show me Your glory.” 19 Then He said, “I will make all My goodness pass before you, and I will proclaim the name of the Lord before you. I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.” 20 But He said, “You cannot see My face; for no man shall see Me, and live.” 21 And the Lord said, “Here is a place by Me, and you shall stand on the rock. 22 So it shall be, while My glory passes by, that I will put you in the cleft of the rock, and will cover you with My hand while I pass by. 23 Then I will take away My hand, and you shall see My back; but My face shall not be seen.”


This is how Moses responded when YHVH passed by:


Exodus 34.5 “Now the Lord descended in the cloud and stood with him there, and proclaimed the name of the Lord. 6 And the Lord passed before him and proclaimed, “The Lord, the Lord God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abounding in goodness and truth, 7 keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin, by no means clearing the guilty, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children and the children’s children to the third and the fourth generation.”

8 So Moses made haste and bowed his head toward the earth, and worshiped. 9 Then he said, “If now I have found grace in Your sight, O Lord, let my Lord, I pray, go among us, even though we are a stiff-necked[a] people; and pardon our iniquity and our sin, and take us as Your inheritance.”

---

There are many places in the Bible that talk about being prepared to come before HIM, and what God-fearers did when HE did manifest HIMSELF. Remember Elijah and the still small voice?

I don’t want this to be exhaustive list, but rather a sort of guided inspiration in your devotional time. How does one prepare themselves for HIS Presence?


Think about the book or movie Hadassah, partly fictional, but taking a little more look at the preparation Hadassah/Esther underwent in order to be in the presence of the King. All of this was in the midst of a very dangerous place, the palace in Susa. But God was with her. One does not simply go plodding into the presence of the King.


God’s Holy Days, and Sabbaths point to so much more than a special date on the calendar. HE leaves messages everywhere, drawing us closer to HIM. Do we consider the lessons there in each day? Do we consider Whom we are praying to in our quiet times?


Think about how you currently interact with your spouse, and how you can improve. Do you smile and get yourself ready after a hard day/moment? Do you try to listen well, help with their burdens, pray for them? Do you work on your relationship in little moments? How about your relationship with the King of Kings? Do you leave your burdens at HIS feet, and, like David’s Psalms, remind yourself of Who HE is and lift up your heart in trust and faith?


Just little thoughts to ponder from a little Hermit


Shabbat shalom

~Mrs. Hermit






6 views
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page