top of page

Shavua Tov! - Iyar 13 - April 25, 2021

The thought for this week is: small changes. Counting the Omer day by day is like a gardener or farmer tending their plants. What little changes can you make in your own life that will help you grow? While plants sometimes need big changes like transplanting to better soil, sometimes all they need is a little more light or better water.


Matthew 6.33 "But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."


“All big things come from small beginnings. The seed of every habit is a single, tiny decision. But as that decision is repeated, a habit sprouts and grows stronger. Roots entrench themselves and branches grow. The task of breaking a bad habit is like uprooting a powerful oak within us. And the task of building a good habit is like cultivating a delicate flower one day at a time.” ― James Clear, Atomic Habits: An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones



I think this song and music video by Julieta Venegas makes a good point about how small things can detract from what's really important.


Translation of song:

You talk to me, you ask

if we can see each other later

I have too many reasons

although I'd like to, I don't know

There is always more,

that at first glance is not seen ...


The idea scares you

of what may happen

I tell you I would like

something that makes you feel good,

but there is something else

that with the naked eye you can't see


But I feel that something in me

something that is changing

not seen ...

but I feel that there is in me

something that is changing "


The story of the bamboo, and how great effort might not be seen for years, but is worth it in the end. (This video was made by Aish for Rosh Hashanah, but is worth watching anytime. : ) )

16 views
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page